By Daan Haket · Tested hands-on · written with an AI assistant · who does what
Pricing climbs with contact count and the add-ons (CRM, SMS, extra seats) stack up fast — the sticker Starter price is not what a serious automation setup actually costs. Powerful, but budget for the tier (Plus and up) you'll really use. Throughout this review we weigh it against Mailchimp.
businesses that want deep marketing automation and lifecycle email tied to a light CRM, and will actually use the automation depth.
you just need to send a newsletter — a simpler, cheaper email tool does that without paying for automation you won't touch.
Transparency: the “Visit” links on this page are affiliate links — we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. No vendor can pay for a better review or verdict. How we make money →
On 30 September 2026 we opened a new ActiveCampaign account on the 14-day free trial, which carries the Pro plan's features, and gave Active Intelligence 3.0: Wavelength ten tasks: a brand kit from our website, a campaign from one of our test pages (twice), a Dutch translation, an image, a welcome automation, a daily scheduled task, industry benchmarks and an automation health check. We checked every result against our own pages, saved before it read them.
✓ Pricing re-verified 9 Oct 2026
No free plan, trial only. There are four tiers. Starter is from $15/mo with 1 user, limited segmentation and 5 actions per automation. Plus is from $49/mo with 1 user, standard segmentation, unlimited automation actions and landing pages. Pro is from $79/mo with 3 users, advanced segmentation, predictive and conditional content and attribution tracking. Enterprise is from $145/mo with 5 users, premium segmentation, SSO, custom objects and a dedicated account team.
Your email send allowance is a multiple of your contact count — 10x on Starter and Plus, 12x on Pro, 15x on Enterprise. The bill then scales with list size, and the ladder only renders after you select a contact count: at 10,000 contacts on 2026-09-29 it read Starter $149, Plus $189, Pro $375 and Enterprise $589 a month on annual billing.
A separate Email + WhatsApp plan starts at $112 (Plus), $142 (Pro) and $284 (Enterprise) a month, each with up to 5 WhatsApp lines. CRM pipelines, SMS and extra users remain paid add-ons. Read again on 9 October 2026 with the contact selector, billed annually (the page offers no monthly option). Starter $15 at 1,000, $39 at 2,500, $79 at 5,000, $109 at 7,500, $149 at 10,000, $231 at 15,000, $311 at 20,000, $391 at 25,000 contacts, and 'Only available on plans with 25,000 contacts or less'.
Plus $49 at 1,000, $95 at 2,500, $145 at 5,000, $169 at 7,500, $189 at 10,000, $265 at 15,000, $329 at 20,000, $389 at 25,000, $449 at 30,000, $549 at 40,000, $609 at 50,000. Pro $79 at 1,000, $149 at 2,500, $205 at 5,000, $289 at 7,500, $375 at 10,000, $465 at 15,000, $549 at 20,000, $629 at 25,000, $709 at 30,000, $879 at 40,000, $969 at 50,000.
Enterprise $145 at 1,000, $255 at 2,500, $375 at 5,000, $479 at 7,500, $589 at 10,000, $689 at 15,000, $785 at 20,000, $879 at 25,000, $949 at 30,000, $1,095 at 40,000, $1,169 at 50,000. Above 50,000 contacts the page shows no price.
Plans change — always verify the live price on their site.
Category context: Growth & Revenue. Across the 83 tools in this category that we researched with a public US-dollar price, the median entry price is $29 a month (lowest paid plan as listed, per seat where the vendor prices per seat). ActiveCampaign’s entry price of $15 a month sits below that median. Compare pricing conditions in the Software Cost Atlas →
Correction after re-checking: (historical note from 23 July 2026, superseded by our browser readings of 17 August and 5 September 2026, which found the 'starts at' prices on the vendor's own page) Earlier passes found no figures on the pricing page and relied on third-party sources. One point from that pass still stands: on accounts created on or after 3 November 2025, unsubscribed, unconfirmed and bounced contacts count toward the billed contact limit, while accounts created before that date stay on the old active-contacts-only rule (reported by SendX; not stated on the vendor pricing page). Older 'you only pay for active contacts' guidance is therefore wrong for new accounts.

The video version of this review, from our YouTube channel.
⚡ Short on time? Watch the 30-second verdict Short.
Marketing automation and lifecycle email with a light CRM attached.

Hands-on: tested 2026-09-30Documented by the vendor: 2 features, read 2026-10-07Reported by buyers: Capterra, Trustpilot, TrustRadius and independent testing write-ups, read August 2026
Themes from the buyer-review sites listed at the foot of this page, read in August 2026. We tested ActiveCampaign ourselves on 2026-09-30, but one test is a narrow sample, so here is what other buyers report. We summarise it here because the complaints are usually the part a vendor page leaves out.
Where the ratings disagree. Trustpilot has sat between 2.8 and 3.0 across roughly 1,300-1,400 reviews through 2026 — low for this category — while the software directories rate it well. The directories are rating the automation; Trustpilot is rating the invoice.
Pages read (August 2026): Trustpilot
There is no free plan: after the 14-day trial (no credit card required) you pay, and ActiveCampaign backs that with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Judge the tiers on the feature grid rather than the price list, because the price list is rendered client-side and only appears in a real browser. Every tier on activecampaign.com/pricing does carry a figure, but a plain fetch retrieves none of them — and neither does our own monthly capture of that page.
If a comparison site tells you ActiveCampaign does not publish its prices, that is what it is looking at. On the published grid the sharpest break is automation depth: Starter is listed at 5 actions per automation, while Plus, Pro and Enterprise are listed as unlimited automation actions. That is the concrete thing you buy by leaving Starter. What you do not buy is a seat: Starter and Plus are both 1 user, Pro is 3 and Enterprise 5.
And you do not buy a CRM either. Pipelines and Sales Engagement are separately priced add-ons, listed by Prospeo at $49 and $85 per month on top of your plan. Sending headroom moves slowly as well: the monthly send cap is 10x your contact limit on Starter and Plus, 12x on Pro and 15x on Enterprise. Billing is per contact regardless of how little you send, so a broadcast-only list gets expensive on volume alone.
On the vendor's own page on 29 September 2026, 1,000 contacts on annual billing is $15 for Starter, $49 for Plus, $79 for Pro and $145 for Enterprise a month; at 10,000 contacts the same four read $149, $189, $375 and $589. Prospeo lists Starter at $19 per month if you pay month-to-month.
The first findings are at the top of this page. The rest:
What this test does not show: One account. The main session ran on 30 September 2026, the first scheduled report was checked on 1 October, and image generation was retried on 3 and 5 October. Real sends, deliverability, performance with a send history, and the limits of Starter and Plus were not tested.
Most of our reviews are researched rather than run — how we review explains which is which, and why we do not pretend otherwise.
First value is a campaign, not an automation: import a list, pick a template, send. That is a same-day job. Before your first real send, authenticate your sending domain in ActiveCampaign's settings and add the DNS records it gives you at your DNS host. If you are migrating in, ActiveCampaign says its free migration service moves lists, tags and custom fields, email templates and forms, and up to 10 automations, and that it includes account setup help; the page names no plan-tier or paid condition.
Treat that as the vendor's own description of its own service and check it against your setup before you rely on it — the list stops at 10 automations and says nothing about third-party integrations. For the builder itself, ActiveCampaign says it ships 950+ automation recipes, which is a cheaper starting point than a blank canvas; that count is also the vendor's, not an independent one. Check your contact count early.
SendX reports that on accounts created on or after 3 November 2025, unsubscribed, unconfirmed and bounced contacts all count toward the limit you are billed for, while accounts created before that date are grandfathered onto the old rule and pay for active contacts only. SendX also says the change was never publicly announced, and ActiveCampaign's pricing page does not state it, so confirm which rule applies to you against your own invoice.
Distilled from https://www.activecampaign.com/blog/does-activecampaign-have-a-steep-learning-curve Pricing re-read 29 September 2026 on activecampaign.com/pricing in a rendered browser at 1,000 and 10,000 email contacts and on the Email + WhatsApp tab; a plain fetch of that page still carries none of the amounts, and llms.txt returns a 404.
Each column shows the vendor’s own published entry price, read on the date shown. Entry prices can cover different services or units, so check what each one buys. We do not average them into a score.
Both names above are affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. Neither changes what this table says.
The natural comparison is Mailchimp or Brevo — simpler, cheaper email tools. Weigh it against Mailchimp on the job you actually need done.
On annual billing the published starting points are $15 for Starter, $49 for Plus, $79 for Pro and $145 for Enterprise a month, read on 17 August 2026 and unchanged on 29 September 2026. Those are floors: the real figure depends on your contact count, and the page only shows it after you choose one — at 10,000 contacts it read $149, $189, $375 and $589. There is no free plan.
Three things rather than a long feature list: how many users (1, 1, 3 and 5), how deep the segmentation goes (limited, standard, advanced, premium) and how many emails you may send — a multiple of your contacts, 10x on Starter and Plus, 12x on Pro, 15x on Enterprise. The one hard wall low down is Starter's cap of five actions per automation, which rules out anything beyond a simple sequence.
Active Intelligence 3.0: Wavelength is ActiveCampaign's first named AI release, published in its release notes on 27 August 2026. The AI now works from your account's own history, sends and automations; it can draft a campaign before you ask, turn any prompt into a daily, weekly or monthly scheduled task, watch your website and the competitor brands in your Brand Kit, and translate a campaign into 75+ languages. What the release notes do not say is which plan gets which part, and ActiveCampaign's partner notes warn that availability "may vary by account and capability". The pricing table, read on 30 September 2026, is the better guide: the Active Intelligence workspace is unlimited on Pro and Enterprise but "Limited access" on Plus and Starter, with no figure for the limit; AI content and image generation are not included on Starter; Starter gets one AI brand kit against five on the other plans; and AI translations and AI actions are listed as paid add-ons on all four tiers. So the $15 Starter price buys little of Active Intelligence 3.0: Wavelength, and translation costs extra whichever plan you choose.
Two things reviewers keep getting caught by. First, which side of a date your account falls on: the billing rule that counts unsubscribed, bounced and unconfirmed contacts is written for accounts created on or after 3 November 2025, so ask whether an older account on the same plan is counted the same way before you assume a quoted figure applies to you. Second, what happens at a tier boundary — crossing a contact tier re-prices the whole plan rather than just the excess, which is the renewal jump people describe. Ask both questions before you import a list.
Yes. We tested ActiveCampaign ourselves on 2026-09-30; the section above says what we tested, what we found and what we did not test, and where a figure comes from the vendor's own documentation instead. Most of our reviews are researched rather than run; we say which is which. We name what each tool is good and bad at, and we earn a commission only if you sign up, at no cost to you.
Reviewed growth & revenue tools that share ground with ActiveCampaign — comparable in what they do, not drop-in swaps:
New reviews, price changes we recorded, and the cost conditions we found. No sponsored placements. Unsubscribe anytime.
This is our researched assessment — not a paid placement. The “Visit” links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you, and it never changes our take. How we review →